MHA Nation Cultural Interpretive Center

The MHA Nation Cultural Interpretive Center is where visitors can learn about the culture and history of the three distinct tribal nations that comprise the Three Affiliated Tribes, the Mandan, Hidatsa and Arikara. The facility is centered around a design mimicking an Earth Lodge structure. The circular central commons area of the building is meant for flexible use while the ancillary spaces around the perimeter can be used for meetings, ceremonies and demonstrations.

Energy efficient insulated concrete forms were used, improving the exterior envelope performance to one that will save on energy costs in the long term.  There is a roof garden and native vegetation planted throughout the site to maximize passive solar energy and help with rainwater mitigation.  The site takes advantage of geothermal energy to reduce the building’s heating load.  Energy efficient fixtures, such as the LED lights on occupancy sensors, are used throughout the building to reduce the electrical load.  A solar array is being installed that will actually offset the energy costs of this building, making it a Net Zero project.  Imagine a tribal building that never has to pay an electric bill.  This will be North Dakota’s second Net Zero energy building, the other, also designed by DSGW, is Four Winds Alternative and CTE High School.

Location:New Town, North Dakota
Market:Native American,